Smokey taste in coffee

evilben

Jan 29, 2018
Visit site
Hi everyone!

I'm very new to home roasting. I just purchased my first roaster (a Hottop), and while I'm starting to get a good feeling for how to control the roaster itself, and what variables I can control, I'm struggling to figure out how these variables actually affect the flavor of the end-cup (beyond just the darkness of the roast).

Wondering if there's a good resource that talks about this in more depth. I'd love to set up some personal science experiments, but as this is just a hobby for personal use, I don't really want to be spending a ton of money wasting coffee beans. :)

I'm getting decent (read, better than folders) batches already, but I've noticed that most of my roasts have a very slight smokey taste to them, regardless if it's a light, medium, or dark roast. Thanks in advance for any help.

Ben

Last edited:

CucamongaDan

Jan 22, 2018
Cucamonga
Visit site
What kind of beans are you roasting? Brazilians are prone to an ashy taste- you have to be careful because they are a softer bean and the temperature can run away if you go through first crack too fast. (That part of the process is exothermic- they are giving off their own heat, in addition to that they are being given by the roaster).

But since you say that the hint of smoky flavor seems to come regardless of roast level, I'm wondering if something is too hot on your Hottop Roaster. If you are preheating the drum I'd try cutting back on that.