Roasting Advice Needed!

malek7373

Mar 11, 2018
Visit site
Hello,

I am new to the Business of Coffee and I am about to get into the coffee industry. However, before I buy my own roasting machine, I wanted to roast my coffee at a nearby roaster. Therefore, I was wondering how much does it usually cost to roast a pound of coffee, before I go forward with price negotiation. They will be roasting and bagging the coffee too. Hence, I am going to be roasting at least 1000 pounds a month.

JoeConiglioArmenia

Nov 10, 2017
NYC
Visit site
Malek welcome to the forum. Tons of variables in your question, the type of bags are a huge variable. The type of green is another, but I think your question is solely on the line item of what does it cost to roast 1000 pounds of coffee not inclusive of green & bag?

Good luck in the business!

topher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 14, 2003
Boca Raton
Visit site
Are you providing the green? If you are looking for a price for "toll roasting" and packaging I would say you are looking at about $1 a lb. I wouldn't personally do it for any cheaper than that. You would have to provide the green, bags and boxes. Hope this helps.

malek7373

Mar 11, 2018
Visit site
Thanks for the valuable info topher and Joe. Well, I am going to be providing the green coffee, I was looking for a roaster that would roast them and package them. I have spoke with one so far he wants to charge $2.65 lb but, I declined his offer and looking for a lower rate around $1.25 lb. I am NYC and if you can recommend any roaster nearby that would be great!

topher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 14, 2003
Boca Raton
Visit site
$2.65?? Wow. They must have a small roaster. If you want to take a mini vacation in Paradise come on down and I will knock it out for ya at a buck a lb. How much green are you buying at one time?

malek7373

Mar 11, 2018
Visit site