BC Roasters? Anyone have experience with these?

brewbat2

Dec 13, 2018
Rocky Mountains
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm new to roasting, but looking for a roaster that can do 1-2kg. Does anyone here have experience with BC Roasters? They appear to make 3 different lines of roasters and look reasonably well made, but I haven't seen many reviews online.

Thanks!

sandollars

Nov 24, 2018
Visit site
I just bought a BC-3 expected to arrive toward the end of this month. They seem to be well made and reasonably priced. Randy is great to work with. I haven't heard anything bad about them or the company.

tfehst

Nov 13, 2020
Visit site
How was your experience with Buckeye? I'm in the market for an entry level roaster and they seem to keep popping up on my list as their pricing is much better than Mill City.

Any tips or experiences you have to share would be awesome.

Cheers

sandollars

Nov 24, 2018
Visit site
Well, it has been 2 years since I purchased my BC-3 BC Roaster and I just got an email notification that someone had posted on this thread, so I thought I would come back and offer my thoughts after 2 years of use.

Since my roaster is a double-wall, I have 6 burners. All the equipment is the same on this unit as his 3.5. This one is LPG, with Rose gold checkered trim.

First off, the roaster is HEAVY. No, I mean refrigerator heavy so be sure to plan for that when you buy or build a base or table for it. My double wall is about 350 pounds.

The roasting drum, chamber, and front and back walls are built from very heavy gauge (1/4 inch) stainless steel plate. I am a Steel man by trade and while I haven't shot it for metallurgy I am pretty sure it is at least 304-18/8 stainless but I suspect the actual drum is 316 or 321a. Sorry for the momentary geek-out.... What I am saying is it is made of high quality materials which is very important as NO ONE wants to deal with a warped drum.