does color of green beans indicate quality?

scottlindner

Oct 9, 2006
Colorado Springs, CO
Visit site
I'm a newbie to roasting since receiving a home roaster as a gift. The unroasted beans I received at the time were in some gas filled bag of sorts. I've read to store unroasted beans in a cool dry place in a breathable bag. I just ordered some unroasted beans from an online supplier. The color is not as bright green as the ones I received as part of the gift. They have a slight brownish color to them, but they smell just the same. Does the bright green color of the original beans I received indicate good quality or good storage and handling? Does the brownish color indicate poor handling or lower quality? Or is the color irrelevant?

ElPugDiablo

Do you know what kind of beans you got with your roaster and what kind of beans you bought online? Beans from different regions, different processing methods will have different greenness to them. There are a lot of things to look for in green beans such as age, size, defect count, moisture content, usually visual inspection can tell you a lot about quality. But ultimately how does it taste?

scottlindner

Oct 9, 2006
Colorado Springs, CO
Visit site
That's what I suspected. It's an Indonesian Sumatra. I purchased it from www.morebeer.com. I am a homebrewer and home wine maker, they started doing coffee too so I picked it up. I'm definitely a coffee junky and love a great cup of Joe.

I have the Zach & Dani's roaster. I've read, after buying, that it isn't the best. Before I read detailed reviews about it, I thought the coffees I made tasted kind of bland, or flat. Like there was no depth to it. I don't know the proper coffee tasting terms so I apologize if I brutalized what I observed. Later I read this is to be expected with this roaster. Still, it's better than store bought and I love the smell in the house after using it.