Looking to move to a larger roaster and need some advice.

JonMcK

May 17, 2011
Brampton, ON, Canada
Visit site
Greetings!

I have been roasting as a hobby for a few years now. Started on the bbq, used a popcorn maker, bought a Behmor, then another and finally took the plunge and bought a Toper 1kg Electric Cafemino.

I turned my hobby into a business and initially sold at a couple of farmer's markets. This year I opened up a coffee shop and things have gone well.

My roasting requirements have increased at the same time as my Cafemino has started to fail me. My first 600 roasts on it were great but, I started to see an increase in roasting times, gradual at first but now unacceptable.

I had hoped for help from the distributer, Robust Roasters in Toronto. Peter said that the element had burnt out and wasn't functioning properly. So, I ordered a new one. He came out and installed it and it has been terrible since. Peter has not been any help saying that my roasting times are normal. Well, I must have had a super element to begin with. A roast that once took 15 minutes now takes almost 30 minutes.

My situation is critical. I can't keep up with my roaster the way it is, the distributer is of no help and I am exhausted.

I need a new roaster. Do I stick with Toper and get a 3kg Gas model or do I leave them behind and get something else. Used? New? Cost and timelines are obviously major factors. I need something asap and have a tiny budget.

I could really use this group's advice...

Thank you,
Jon

kifucoffeeroaster

Apr 26, 2011
Visit site
Jon,