Long roast times - vintage L5 Probat

Sweden

Nov 8, 2011
Visit site
Hi,I'm new to roasting and have just bought a vintage Probat L5. I have a problem with too long roast times and kind of burned taste and to low flavor of fruit. The answer could be simple: "well, drop your coffee earlier and it won't be burned..." Now we come to the tricky part. To reach about 195* celcius (about 383*f) it takes about 20 minutes. The very start of second crack is at this temperature. If I drop the coffee at first crack it's very uneven in color (one bean darker then the other). I have tried both 4 kg and 2,5 kg batch with almost he same result.To get the beans to higher temp faster I keep full gas at all times exept during first crack. Now to the 1000 questions:What are your recommendations? Shall I decrease gas to "half" and "keep the air temperature" instead of trying to increase it at all times? Would this get rid of burned flavour?What air temp should I try to keep?Could the beanprobe be wrong?Something wrong whith roaster?well.... I could keep going whith more questions but lets start with this and see if anyone has the energy to help me ;)Thank in advanceMattias

ACRM

Oct 15, 2011
Brooklyn, NY
Visit site
Hi Sweden,
Welcome to the "black magic" of coffee roasting! Just a few general thoughts...