Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Flavoring coffee

Hello,
    I'm new to this roasting about 4 months. Have come up with a good combo for our main coffee selection. Now I what to flavor it like with vanilla or choco. rasberry. Should I flavor before roasting or after?
    Could use some feed back! Thanks from Alaska

Super Moderator
    definatly before just kidding...don't you dare put flavoring in your roaster..not only would all your coffees taste like flavoring but you would have a nice little fire....flavor after words when your coffee has cooled. Which flavoring company did you go with?
    "Wine is for aging, not coffee."
    Ken Hutchinson, Starsky and Hutch

Good morning,
    Thank you for answering my question. I went with flavor waves It seems to be pretty good! :P I only had a few choices but I'll keep looking because this stuff is fun.

Definitely flavor after roasting - if you roast flavors, you get 1.) carbonized flavoring 2.) sticky, gunky roaster.

There are different ways to deal with grinding flavored coffee. If you don't mind flavor residue in your grinder, you can flavor first. If you have a good mixer, you can flavor after grinding. The mixing is important because if you don't mix a lot, you get uneven flavoring.
    Coffee leads men to trifle away their time, scald their chops, and spend their money, all for a little base, black, thick, nasty, bitter, stinking nauseous puddle water. ~The Women's Petition Against Coffee, 1674

Super Moderator
    I can't see flavoring after you grind...unless you are using power bean...If you are going to use liquid on ground coffee it will clump. You should just dedicate one grinder to flavoring.

As far as flavoring after grinding, we converted an industrial washing machine - looks like a cement mixer for flavoring. It can handle half a ton of coffee at a time.

Do not try this at home.