How to Pick a Roaster

HillofBeans

Apr 16, 2012
Visit site
Hi,
I'm new to this but want to jump into the roasting business.- Farmers markets and hopefully grow from there. All i got is my arrogance about the taste of coffee. I am looking for a roaster 5Kg to 12Kg so I could grow into it and not have to trade up for a couple of years. I figure used so if I go beely up quick I could resell the roaster close to my buying price. That's why I'm not affraid to start with a bigger unit. I figure i would just loose the price of shipping, installation at home and the coffee i burn.
But every brand has 10 people who swear by it and 10 who swear at it. And really a lot of people just know their own. But they couldnt all be equal- The prices really differ (why)and the only good roaster couldn't just be ancient Probats - which is out of my price range even if I found one -So the question is what to look for - what to look out for -what is the sign of the bad machine i like automation because I love consistency
Thoughts please- Thanks

Dan

Feb 27, 2012
Israel
Visit site
HilofBeans,
First and foremost - best of luck!
Your last sentence caught my eye - "I like automation because I love consistency".
you're more than welcome to contact me about our automatic shop roaster - it's smaller than you write but can work 24/7 and can handle 600 lbs a month and more. And... it's very affordable.
You can see more about it at this link.

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Hello "HillofBeans"

Welcome to the Coffee Forums website!

You will find a lot of information about coffee roasters here. We have quite a number of members who have coffee roasting experience and who know a great deal about the equipment that you'll need.

Are you planning to install a roaster that's large enough to roast 10-26 lbs of coffee in your house, or do you have a garage or other area where you plan to set up your roasting equipment?

Good luck with your endeavor.