Opening a small coffee shop

jwjohnson

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
Hello all, I'm rather new here. I've been trying to do some research, and stumbled upon this website, and figured that maybe I could find some information/guidance here.
I'm currently a college student, a junior. I'm going for a degree in business management and hope to possibly start my own small business one day. One day I thought to myself of how in my hometown, there's no place to really get coffee, other than McDonald's or something like that of course. The nearest Starbucks are pretty far, up to thirty minutes away. People will go out of there way to get specialty coffee like that. So, I started think to myself how a coffee shop would be a great business to start. However, I don't necessarily mean to open a shop up in my home town though.
This coffee shop would sell all sorts of products, including coffee, tea, and pastries, and anything else to help the business grow. I've been to other coffee shops, and noticed how they sold books, made light food (sandwhiches and soups). So, I was considering doing something like that as well. Also, a local coffee shop near the university I attend (East Carolina University, puts on performances by artists of all kinds, and that is something I would definitely love to do.
So, basically what I want to get around to is how much it would cost me to start up this kind of business? How much could I possibly make in profits? I know starting a small business is a huge risk, especially in this current economy, but I feel like this is something that I really want to do. Is it really worth the risk? If there's anything you feel I should know, or any advice you can give me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

CanadianBrian

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
Hello jwjohnson;