Dairy Queen, Orange Julius and Cinnabon DESTROYING my business.

RenaMariesCoffees

May 10, 2013
NC
Visit site
Hey guys...
I am just looking for some advice.

I inherited a coffee shop, I have been running it for 4 months now.
It is in a mall, and we have HORRIBLE competition.

As the Title suggest, we have a Cinnabon next to us and a DQ/OJ across from us.
For example; We will be dead for 2 hours but DQ/OJ will be busy the whole time.

I know it is about adverting but I do not have a lot of working capital.
We have smoothies and all... but I guess it has a lot to do with name recognition as well.

Our prices are moderate, cheaper than most coffee shop (on top of it all we are an organic shop), cheaper than SB, which is on the other side of the mall.

Should I price match our frappe's against DQ and Cinnabon and price match OJ smoothies?

Thanks,
a seriously discouraged cafe owner.

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
How did you inherit the shop?

How long has it not been doing well?

Maybe start giving out free samples in front of your shop so the folks walking the mall can see what they are missing?

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Hello RenaMariesCoffees,

Welcome to the Coffee Forums!

Try to picture yourself in the shoes of a potential customer who is craving something cold and delicious and who has a limited amount of money to spend.

Would you be drawn into a name-brand place, or would you tempt fate and walk into a lesser known place (yours)? Would you risk spending your money on a possible disappointment, or go with a tried and true old favorite?