mobile coffee Biz worth it? told to leave location? require loads of legal docs?

dmagic

Aug 24, 2013
Visit site
I really like this website...so much info here.

I'm trying to see if this idea is even worth it, dealing with the legal end of things. I usually over-estimate these difficulties though.

I have 6 years coffee experience and love it; I'd like to have a mobile coffee trailer and travel nationwide. I'd only like to take donation/tip I don't need the money this is just a hobby. I'd like to get it permitted and under health code in one city then travel around wherever. I know having it permitted in one city isn't enough. So what's the estimate in a fine if I were to get caught in another state handing out coffee on the side of the road? what's the likelihood of getting caught?

Would the fine be more than a 1,000 dollars? Also If I were to be parked in a random parking lot or on the street, what is the likelihood a city official will make me leave?
I know these things vary state to state city to city, but I have no clue...any estimate or guess would even be helpful. I've noticed a lot of food truck, hot dog stands, and other food stands on the sidewalk/road and they don't seem to be up with their permits (from my unknowing POV), so maybe the city officials don't keep tabs like I think they do? at least here..

I could leave daily if needed and I prefer to not stay in one city for more than 5 weeks.

this is just an idea...I'm open to this being a complete disaster.

I want to be as legal as I can without making everything not worth it. thanks

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Hi "dmagic"

Welcome to the Coffee Forums website!

What part of the country are you located in? You may think the city officials don't keep tabs, and maybe they don't until someone complains or turns you in.

It sounds like you plan to live in your mobile coffee trailer as you travel across the country.