is the SCAA a good place to start learning

gingerbreadman333

Mar 19, 2014
Visit site
Im planning to attend the Specialty coffee Association of America Expo in Seattle because they are offering courses on coffee and the business of coffee but which courses do i start with first ? is the Specialty coffee association a good place to start learning

I am passionate about coffee and looking for a career change. My dream is to open my own coffee shop but i have very little experience and dont know where to begin. my question is do i learn everything about coffee first ? or do l learn the business of coffee? i do understand that learning the coffee is important but most business fail due to the lack of knowledge in business.

CoffeeJunky

Dec 7, 2012
Michigan, US
Visit site
welcome aboard, if I were you, I would start read different thread in different coffee forum before you get to SCAA. But again, SCAA can only provide you with short and compact information. You need much more then just few hours of lesson and most of the people who are going to be there have pretty good ideas about coffee business.

So I would start from our forum. And move on to coffeegeek, SweetMaria and other decent coffee forums. And find out what you want to learn. List of things you would like to know and attend the SCAA. Remember, SCAA door entrance cost is very high.

Good luck

gingerbreadman333

Mar 19, 2014
Visit site
welcome aboard, if I were you, I would start read different thread in different coffee forum before you get to SCAA. But again, SCAA can only provide you with short and compact information. You need much more then just few hours of lesson and most of the people who are going to be there have pretty good ideas about coffee business.

So I would start from our forum. And move on to coffeegeek, SweetMaria and other decent coffee forums. And find out what you want to learn. List of things you would like to know and attend the SCAA. Remember, SCAA door entrance cost is very high.