Convenience store coffee...kind of

stellaxtine

May 16, 2014
Visit site
I'm opening up a "convenience" store in a strip mall near a well-to-do neighborhood in the-middle-of-nowhere. Besides the restaurant, vet clinic, karate studio, and pet hotel next door, the only things nearby are a school and hospital, so by convenience, I don't mean Circle K, but more one-stop convenience services for the neighborhood (mail services and such). I want to make half the store a little cafe, so people can have coffee, wifi, and a nice place to sit and wait for whatever. I'm hoping to serve brewed coffee, espresso, and blended drinks.

Now here's where I'm hoping not to get lynched by everyone here (if you already haven't figured it out) :eek:
I know nothing about making a good cup of coffee.

I enjoy coffee but I have no experience being a barista and I'm certainly not a passionate coffee drinker. I've been trying to wrap my head around the coffee side of things for a while now and realized that maybe I should partner up with someone who does know a few things about coffee and who is much more excited about coffee than I am to run that area and have fun making coffee, while I do all the business work. The problem is, I don't know anybody who is passionate about coffee, so how would I even go about finding them? Would a knowledgeable barista be enough for the job?

CoffeeJunky

Dec 7, 2012
Michigan, US
Visit site
Stella,

First, welcome aboard.

I have few suggestions with your dilemma.
Where are you located and can you take few days to go on training?
Lastly, how much are you budgeting for coffee section.

CJ

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Hello "stellaxtine"

Welcome to the Coffee Forums!

What state are you located in?