Want to help build a coffee shop?

DickV3636

Aug 14, 2017
Visit site
Hi! My wife and I are embarking on a project to open a coffee shop designed to provide meaningful and competitively paid employment for our neighbors with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Our timeline is a late summer 2018 opening. We will be locating on the ground floor retail of a new student housing building located in downtown Burlington, Vermont US. My wife is a special needs educator and I am a business analyst/consultant project manager who spent the last two decades implementing technology projects for clients incl SBUX, Tim Hortons, Wendy's and others.

We are approaching this as a project, identifying what the barriers are to employment and testing solutions. We will be a for-profit Vermont Benefit Corporation. Adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities have an unemployment rate of 70%+ and often live lives in isolation and dependence. I believe that by implementing new technologies, adapting business practices and incorporating supportive training that we can provide opportunities for some of these folks.

For example - could we employ some folks currently unemployed if we enacted the following? Could we do it profitably? Would the public be accepting?
- Top end superautomatic espresso machines to allow employees to focus on service
- Coffee ordering app to allow a few extra minutes for drink preparation
- Single serve coffee preparation machines such as steampunk or other
- Does a coffee shop in 2018 really need to accept cash? Cashless shop to expand employment opportunities?
- Facial recognition software that remembers and prompts barista of customer's usual order?
- 3d printers using espresso powder as "ink" for latte art
and other equally outrageous ideas both low and high tech.