Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    BIC

Should coffee shops offer some discount for the people who bring in their own cup?

considering "eco-friendly" thing, should coffee shop offer some sort of discount for the customers purchase when the customer brings in his or her own cup?
    if so, what would be the reasonable discount?

BIC
    Quote Originally Posted by WhyCoffee View Post
    No, same reason I don't want to go to a restaurant where customers bring their own plates...
    I am a tennis coach while I am in LA.
    when I go to court and coach, I bring my racket, balls, water..etc but never bring tennis court net to install..... I guess that same logic applies here.

Super Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by WhyCoffee View Post
    No, same reason I don't want to go to a restaurant where customers bring their own plates...

We each have to do whatever we need to do to feel comfortable. There are no right or wrong answers.

There is a chain of restaurants on the East Coast called Famous Dave's. They have barbeque style food. I have a friend who always wants to go there, because the food is good. But, the turn off for me is that they serve the main course (roasted chicken, corn on the cob, etc.) in a basket that is lined with a piece of parchment paper. I'm sure the baskets get re-used over and over again, and I can't imagine that they have a way of sanitizing them. The parchment paper liner gets wet from the food and it tears as you're cutting the meat. I am very uncomfortable with that because I'm sure the basket itself isn't clean. So . . . If my friend wants me to go to that restaurant with her, she knows she has to be okay with me bringing my own heavy-duty paper plates so I can transfer the food out of the basket and onto my paper plates after it's served. The food servers have no problem with me doing that, and they're remarked that it's a good idea.

To get back on track with the original question: