Newbie... Am I on to something here?

Macalicious

Oct 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi all… well I’m new to this coffee thing and this seems like a really cool forum. I’m in the very early planning stages of a coffee shop and I thought I run my plan by everybody to see if it seems feasible.

My wife and I own a music school and have about 100 students a week coming through our house (we don’t live there and we do own the house.) The downstairs is on the street level in a busy neighborhood with a lot of foot traffic. The downstairs is about 700 square feet, has its own bathroom and is already plumbed for a sink (it was once used as a separate apartment.) I am thinking that this would be a good place for a coffee shop. The house is zoned commercially and I already had an architecht come through and make sure the city would let us do it (he got back to me this week and everything is good to go.) We already have a built in customer base in the afternoons (3pm -7pm parents just sit in their car and wait for they’re kids’ lessons to end.) In the beginning I’m thinking the coffee shop would be geared more as a service for the student and parentss than for outside customers, but obviously I would like it to catch on with the public too.

So my question is… what am I missing. This sort of seems like a no brainer (keep in mind there are several coffee shops within a 5 mile radius of us.) There is obviously the cost of equipment… but besides that what else am I looking at cost wise? I’ll probably need an employee or 2 in the afternoons and I’ll work in the mornings. Our mortgage is pretty cheap and the music business more than covers that.

I’m calling on your experience. Does this seem like a good idea?

Thanks a lot for the help,
Mac

cindy

Feb 8, 2005
South Africa
Visit site
i wont say you posted in the wrong space...youve got a VERY different concept going here.

heres a few q's for you?

what are you business hours?