Opening soon...

villagejoe

Mar 10, 2007
Visit site
Hey everyone! I've posted sporadically over the last year about a coffee shop endeavor that is now coming to fruition! I'm starting a coffee bar in an apartment complex, sharing a building with the leasing office but having our own space, complete with large kitchen/back room, full service bar, seating areas, three public-use computers, Wi-Fi, and outdoor balcony seating. It all overlooks a river and the swimming pool. I'm employed by a local non-profit organization and we get to run the shop as an amenity for residents, rent- and utilities-free!

Right now we're waiting on some zoning issues, but it's expected to clear up soon. We've already set up most of our equipment and will probably be ready to make drinks by the end of the week. I've tapped the people I want to hire and we're hopefully opening in March!

I'm trying to prepare as much as I can for the operation side of things. I have limited experience from working as a supervisor at Starbucks, but now I have to face the entire mountain of bookkeeping! I know I need to have basic systems in place for cash handling and deposits and such, as well as tracking purchases and inventory. I have some resources to help me in this process, but does anyone out there have specific tips regarding shop operations that might help me? Maybe what to make sure I go over with employees, the best way to structure daily/weekly reports, etc.? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Jonathan

davidsbiscotti

Oct 4, 2007
Visit site
I've followed your progress through your posts,
and you've been very thorough in explaining each stage that you're going through.
There's a couple of things I still don't understand.
Number one - I don't get the non-profit connection.
Number two - Are the residents of the apartment complex your only customers?

Regarding employees, here's a thread containing some advice that might help:
http://www.coffeeforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=6875