Why would anyone be so crazy as to...

Build out for cafes. Really I have to ask myself why I still do this for a living. I am onto my 11th cafe fitout at present (11th I have owned and therefore been responsible for- umpenth other buildouts with some other idiot taking thecabinets pressure!). Hours are insane. Over the last 3 weeks its been 5am starts, midnight finishes. I have had to deal with doors being put where no doors should be, floor traps in the wrong place (big issue when it takes 8 hours to core through solid reinforced concrete), various wrong sizes for partitioning, benches, tiling mishaps, workers asleep inside cabinets, wiring misadventures, fist-fights, floor laying problems...the list goes on. The dust, the heat (its about 98F inside), the noise, the beuracracy...all of this so I can get roasting, start getting food and coffee out to the hungary hoards of Central Kuala Lumpur.

One thing they never teach you, or prepare you for in most schools- and most jobs (except maybe the armed forces) is sleep deprevation. Granted this is self imposed, but I know for sure if I turn up at 10am many things would have already passed to be- hard to say why contractors struggle to follow plans.

On the plus side things are getting there now. The feature ceiling, the feature bar, the beature long bench- all completed or close to completion. By next Wednesday we should be 80% done, but behind schedule. Looks like Antipodean 2 will now open first week of January.