Starting from scratch

Ricpac

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site
Hey everybody, I am new to drinking coffee but my girlfriend loves it. She goes out and spends about 20 bucks a day on crap SB coffee. So instead I purchased a hario v60 and I have a burr grinder but will upgrade sooner or later. I enjoy an occasional cup but I would like to get an espresso machine for home and learn how to make espresso and then move on to latte art. Any help with machines to guide me alone this process would be helpful.

expat

May 1, 2012
Ireland
Visit site
Sorry Ricpac, I wouldn't be much help with machines but if you and your girlfriend search out folks who are passionate coffee roasters and drink their coffee your palate will begin to understand what good coffee really is. And you'll be glad you did.

Of course, you may have my problem. Myself and The Lovely & Talented Roast Mistress have become such absolute coffee snobs -- because we can taste the difference now that we've trained our palate, that SB just makes me sick. McD's has a better cup. And that little guy down on the corner who is living and breathing the coffee he's roasting (or she -- could there be another Lovely & Talented Roast Mistress out there?), that guy has the best.

Go online and you'll find lots of people absolutely crazy to roast the best coffee. Buy from them. Use good water. Enjoy.

Remember, life's too short to drink bad coffee.

topher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 14, 2003
Boca Raton
Visit site