Help me refine my process

jaupro

Nov 27, 2012
Visit site
OK. So I've just been getting into coffee the last couple of months. Here is what I have.

An electric kettle that warms to desired specific temps.

A bodum brazil 8 cup

And a mr. Coffee burr mill grinder (current model)

I buy my beans fresh at a local roaster (muggswigz). They said via a contest they are currently ranked in the top 14 in the country. But I digress. When I taste their brewed samples they are perfect. Mine are still good but not fantastic. I'm no expert in describing the flavors I taste yet, but the best I can say is a hard sour bitterness usually at or near the bottom of the cup. Here is my process.

I grind the beans between the course and fine setting but closer to coarse.

I grind up 45 grams and pour it into my Brazil.

I set the kettle to 200, and it usually heats to 203.

I pour just under a liter into the brazil and stir semi vigoursly for about 30 seconds.

I put plunger in and stop it just barely touching the water and wait 3 more minutes

I plunge down slowly applying slight pressure at the bottom.

I then pour the coffee into my thermos brand thermos, pour a cup and cap it off and drink the rest through out the day.

What am I doing wrong?

CoffeeJunky

Dec 7, 2012
Michigan, US
Visit site
NOthing... what seems to be the problem? I don't see anything you are doing that jumps out..... Maybe water is little hotter...I would drop the water temp to about 185-190 but thats about it.... but I don't think that make too much differences...

jaupro

Nov 27, 2012
Visit site
Really? Muggswigz recommends 50g per liter. The pot is 1 liter. And I figure minus the volume of grind 45 gram would begood. Goes not. What grinder on a budget would you recommend? And could water source also be an issue?

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
Yes, Really.

50 g is on the low end. Most target 60g/L for SCAA gold cup standards.

Grind should be more fine, rather than coarse.