Question on getting coffee like the restaurants

mmmcoffee

Mar 17, 2014
Visit site
So I'm very new to coffee. (like less than a month). I am quickly becoming kinda obsessed with making coffee at home just like Tim Hortons, Mcdonalds, or even crappy diners and chinese food resturaunts which probably use folgers. The problem I'm facing is, I take double double everywhere else. But 2 teaspoons of sugar and 2 tablespoons of cream doesn't seem to do it at home. It instead makes the coffee worse than it was with nothing in it... any suggestions?

My other thing was just a question. I tried grinding a cheap whole bean and it was definitely better than folgers and such even though i used a magic bullet to do the grinding. However, I grinded too much and when i used the rest the next day it was worse than folgers. Does generic preground coffee last longer than coffee you grind yourself? As far as storage i just screwed the cap on the magic bullet cup i grinded it with and put it in the pantry, which isn't much worst than the plastic push on cap folgers has.

Lastly, my cheap coffee maker doesn't make if very hot. Is it okay to nuke the coffee a bit before adding the cream and sugar. I shouldn't be noticing all these differences so new in to coffee but if it's not right, i don't feel like drinking it!

Thanks in advance guys. Sorry for the long post.

janry

Dec 16, 2013
Nashville, TN
Visit site
First thing is many restaurants use quality coffee. Some around here get their beans from a local roaster. Some get their beans from big national roasters. So, don't assume they all use something like what you can get in a can in the grocery store.

I started getting pretty serious about my coffee when I retired a little over a year ago. I was chasing my tail as my results seemed to be hit or miss and it was just more luck than skill when I got a good cup of coffee.