Thoughts on coffee to water ratio

A.Nunez

Feb 12, 2015
Visit site
Hello everyone. First off I hope this question is in the right forum and is not answered in another thread. I tried to do my best to find the right forum and answer before posting but I had no luck.

So to start off, I have been dabbling in coffee for quite a few months now and I am still tormented by something. What is a good coffee to water ratio for V60 pour over or pour over in general? I have searched all over the internet in a quest to answer my question. I have seen too many variations to find the answer I am looking for. I adapted what I thought is a good ratio, but I still want a straight answer. Basically I have been using the formula Xozx1.7g(coffee)= Dose. ex. (12oz water:20g coffee). I take the 12oz and put it in a unit converter and would pour 340g water over 20g of coffee. Does this sound right or am I doing something wrong? I'm very meticulous about my coffee and would like to get it down to a science for consistency cup to cup.

So, what are your thoughts?

CoffeeJunky

Dec 7, 2012
Michigan, US
Visit site
Normally when we talk about coffee per cup is about .7 oz of ground coffee per typical 1 cup of water. Now I absolute hate brewing that much coffee in such small amount of water (8oz) I typically put about 12 oz of water per .7 oz of coffee. That works well for me.

Kilowatt

Feb 1, 2015
Podunk
Visit site
The "rule" varies, depending on now your like your coffee. I appreciate your scientific approach, using weight rather than measurement, but I have never had the discipline to be that precise. That said, here is my take.