What is wrong? (with the taste of my coffee)

H12Mike

Dec 31, 2014
Visit site
I have been drinking coffee for 50+ years and for the first 40 years drank anything that was served to me. Then I started drinking SB white chocolate moccas, 3 per day, until I retired 6 years ago. Recently, I have purchased a moccamaster and burr grinder and started using fresh roasted beans.
The problem is: I noticed a major change in taste when I started using the fresh roast instead of store bought; BUT, I cannot detect any change in taste between the different beans. I have bought and tried everything from Bolivian, Columbian, Brazilian, Bali, Kenyan and finally Kona.
Is this common? I guess my palette is not sophisticated enough. When I was travelling a lot I could detect good coffee at the 5 star hotels, but that was probably due to the freshness of their roast. I am still just looking for the perfect morning coffee to enjoy. Any suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator:

topher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 14, 2003
Boca Raton
Visit site
Are you buying coffee from the same roaster everytime? If you are I would suggest trying a few roasters and compare the coffee. I am not saying it is who is roasting it but its a start.

ensoluna

Banned
Apr 29, 2014
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Visit site
The problem is: I noticed a major change in taste when I started using the fresh roast instead of store bought; BUT, I cannot detect any change in taste between the different beans. I have bought and tried everything from Bolivian, Columbian, Brazilian, Bali, Kenyan and finally Kona.

hello Mike. this is Alex from Ensoluna S.A. if you do not mind, I would like to give you some suggestion.
of course, using fresh roasted bean is very important (not over 2 weeks), but another thing is that the roasted beans need to be "light-medium roasted" in order to taste the difference. Dark Roast/French will not work for you.

also, if you can try them with Chemex or pour - over. much better than drip coffee.