Old Crop Green Beans

ChocolatePot

Jun 26, 2015
Honolulu, Hawaii
Visit site
I am brand new to this forum and I am by no means an expert coffee taster. I did however drink many good cups of espresso in Italy, and fine cups of coffee in France, when I was young.

I am also a senior citizen and my taste buds are not what they used to be. Like many seniors I now prefer sweet and mellow over acidity. And I love well made 70% cacao chocolate, if that helps with a question that follows later.

About 14 or 15 years ago I got interested in roasting green bean coffee but as life became very hectic at that time I gave up my interest nearly as soon as I started. I did however purchase a Hearthware Precision roasting machine, which still works like new. I have just recently been roasting the following beans as indicated, which I purchased from Sweet Maria's at that time. They are given a 48 to 72 hour rest after roasting in degassing bags. They have retained great character being close to the cupping reviews written at that time albeit somewhat mellower and less acidic, only the Sulawesi was not that interesting , but still considerably more interesting than a Starbucks brew. I use the "French Press" method to brew.

I live up at about a 1000 feet a short distance outside Honolulu with no air-conditioning, temperatures year round average 68 F (20C) - 78F (25.6C), humidity averages 78% at 7am and 68% at 1pm. The coffees have been kept together in their small muslin sacks for this 14+ year in a dark cupboard hidden from view until I recently rediscovered them.

I have read two conflicting opinions on old green beans, one that this would be too old and the other that it can help if stored properly. In my case it seems to have helped.

The question is why? Hope some of you experienced persons can help.

Here are the beans:

Sulawesi Toraja Boengie "Flat Bean" City+

Brazil Cerrado Monte Carmelo 17/18 - Full City