Is Bulletproof Coffee Good For You?

javacentral

Nov 18, 2015
Visit site
So I just recently heard about Bulletproof coffee and was interested in it. It's a strange concoction of coffee, butter, and this thing called brain octane oil which is a coconut oil derivative. Me being medically inclined (I'm a nurse btw), I instantly thought, huh. Is this even good for you? So I made this neat little video of each ingredient and some of it's goods and bads about it. Has anyone tried Bulletproof coffee? What do you think about it?

AKGSA

Jan 7, 2017
Visit site
My 80+ year old neighbor swears by it....and runs circles around me all summer. I tried it, and had a difficult time choking it down. The key i believe was grain-fed fancy butter i think. It was expensive and hard to find. Ive gone back to homebrewed beers and bourbon. I'm much happier.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

aroaster83

Dec 30, 2012
Portland, OR
Visit site
Short response: Snake oil.
Long response: There are no peer-reviewed, scientific studies confirming any of his claims. The premise is that the "upgraded beans" (red flag 1) have reduced mycotoxins. These are nasty little toxins produced by fungi that plague crops. So, essentially, all beans but Bulletproof beans have high enough levels of these to harm your mental capacity (red flag 2). Adding special butter to the coffee makes it a super food (red flag 3). The claims are half-truths basically. Not false enough to outright condemn, not true enough to fully support, and not scientifically vetted by any stretch of the imagination.