Hello all - an introduction

sosomething

Sep 22, 2006
Circle City
Visit site
Hi folks!

This seems like a nice place. I'm awkward with introductions but I'll give it my best shot...

My name is Adam - I'm 25 and I currently live and work in Indianapolis. I'm a full-time technical contractor, a full-time guitarist in an original rock band, and a full-time caffeine addict. :) I actually found this place through a link posted on a popular music gear forum (TGP, for those who know the place) and decided to register.

I've always known that the coffee/espresso universe ran as deep as any other special interest, but I've never known anyone personally who cared as much about a good cup of coffee as I did (with exception to the drummer in my band), so without proper guidance I've pretty much played it safe. Strange, now that I think of it, that I never sought out a coffee forum. Hmm.

Anyway, I've been through a number of cheaper coffee makers and espresso machines - only to have each one die a miserable, plastic, steam-driven death at the hands of the exceptionally hard water we have here. I had the usual $30 Wal-Mart jobs and a few Krupps machines that seemed nice at first but quickly fell short. Recently I decided to move up a little bit and purchased the pump-driven Breville Cafe Roma which I have thoroughly enjoyed. I've had it a couple of months and it's still going strong, and I've realized the joy of a nice, thick crema which I had previously been missing out on.

I realize that to some of you I'm still a Philistine - I buy my beans from Starbucks and while I do enjoy it (the Bold and Extra Bold flavors exclusively) I can't help but wonder if there's better out there than the same old Sumatra. :) I'm hoping you kind folks can educate me on this.

I went on for a little longer than intended, but I think it's a good start. I look forward to both coffee and non-coffee - related discussions with you all.

Jackson

Aug 22, 2006
Columbus, OH
Visit site
crema