How do I make my coffee better?

DotMatroska

Aug 11, 2010
Visit site
Hey everyone!

I've been drinking coffee on an every-morning basis for the last 3 - 4 years and have been trying to perfect my coffee ever since. My coffee never seems to taste as good as I have had from some friends and family members and in my pursuit to find the perfect cup, I am getting very frustrated I can't seem to get it just right. I really like starbucks Verona blend coffee, one of my friend makes it perfect, so I am using that. I put about 1 - 1.5 tbsp of coffee per 6 oz. cup but when I start putting more in to reach the recommended amount it starts to just taste burned rather than richer and stronger, and when I put less in obviously it tastes too weak, unfortunately the happy medium I have reached is less than satisfactory, at least compared to other cups of Verona I've had. I tried freshly grinding my coffee for a while but didn't notice much of a difference. I've tried 3 different coffee makers and use filtered water out of the fridge, and we have delicious water to begin with. I drink coffee because I love the taste, not because I need the get-up-and-go in the morning, although that is a definite plus, that being said I am reaching the point where I will abandon it because the beans cost too much when I can't get it just right. Obviously I am very passionate about getting my coffee to be just as good as other cups I've had, same blend of coffee, etc, because when it comes out right it is delicious. Also my coffee pot has a filter that sits on top of the grounds, but removing or leaving that makes very little difference since I use filtered water to begin with.