Cold Coffee?

Nathaniell

May 17, 2011
Visit site
I don't see how cold coffee would have less caffeine...It's brewed at the same temperature as hot coffee...and in your body they end up the same temp anyway. I think it just seems that way because when you drink hot coffee you do that sipping motion, and get more oxygen to your brain.

But I'm no scientist.

USRobinson

Apr 19, 2011
Visit site
Well I don't know, maybe it has something to do with when you mix the coffee powder in hot boilnig water, and when then when it cools down to hot (but drinkable hot ) and simply cold.... maybe the coffiene emzimes are not active under a certain temperature... this is just something briefly read...

rlauzon

Nov 30, 2009
Visit site
According to Wikipedia
In general, dark-roast coffee has very slightly less caffeine than lighter roasts because the roasting process reduces a small amount of the bean's caffeine content.

That implies that the heat of brewing coffee would further reduce the caffeine content of the coffee.

My gut feeling, though, is that the reduction is not significant.

rlauzon

Nov 30, 2009
Visit site
I don't see how cold coffee would have less caffeine...It's brewed at the same temperature as hot coffee

"Cold brewed" coffee is not the same as "cold coffee".

Cold brewed coffee is made similar to iced tea: coffee grounds are mixed with room temp water and left soaking for a long time (usually overnight or longer). Check out this as an example.
The cold brew process makes a coffee extract, as opposed to something drinkable. The extract is diluted with something else (water, milk, etc) to make something drinkable.

I would expect cold brewed coffee to have more caffeine than normal because the grounds are soaking longer, extracting more from the grounds. But because it's almost always diluted, the resulting drink probably has the same caffeine content.

Nathaniell

May 17, 2011
Visit site
"Cold brewed" coffee is not the same as "cold coffee".