New Grinder or Hario Vacuum Pot?

Heisenberg

Dec 31, 2011
Visit site
Hello fellow coffee drinkers,

I've been coming to this site for a while now, and have learned a lot by eavesdropping on your discussions. Frankly, I was content to be a fly on the wall. Until today. Now, crippled by indecision, I emerge from anonymity with a question. Any and all advice is welcome.

First, a bit of the backstory. I'm a law student, so coffee is a necessary part of my existence. That said, I appreciate a good cup of coffee. In fact, I take my coffee black, because . . . well, I'm not sure why, but I like the taste of it. I mainly use chemex, moka pots, and the aeropress. Good fortune has left me with a little bit of extra cash to throw around.

Now, as much as I want to buy a new espresso machine, it's just outside my budget. My first espresso was had at upscale italian cafe in Florence, and my appreciation for a good shot grew when I studied in Madrid last summer. My budget limit is ~$200-300; not enough for espresso.

I'm debating between buying (1) the Baratza Virtuoso 586 (I understand this model has been upgraded with the same burrs as the Preciso model) and a French press; or (2) a Hario Siphon/Vacuum Brewer and a less expensive grinder (e.g. the Maestro Plus or Bodum Bistro).

Some considerations:
1. My only grinder is an old blade grinder that I hardly use. It is a complete piece of garbage.
2. I really like French press coffee. I've never had vac pot coffee.
3. I am very intrigued by the vac pot brewing method. It appeals to the mad scientist within me.
4. Feel free to suggest products that I haven't considered.
5. I look forward to hearing what you all have to say, but please try not to club me over the head with the fact that I don't have a nice grinder yet. I only dubiously entertain the argument that a quality grinder cannot be had for less that $200.

-H

shadow745

Aug 15, 2005
Central North Carolina
Visit site