How to sell imported coffee wholesale in the U.S and as a private small brand

darkroast13

Sep 19, 2013
Visit site

Hi,

I am new to Coffee Forum and have been thinking about starting a new business for quite some time. One of the ideas I came up with was to import coffee in the U.S. , in New York. I found a possible connection in the Democratic Republic of the Congo in an area that is not going through war or has any rebel armies there. There are some small farmers there that would like to export their coffee beans, something they have never done.

Any suggestions, ideas or experiences anyone has had that could be helpful to me would be much appreciated.

I know nothing about the coffee market.

Thank you so much!

Victoria

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
I have found that it's wise to know a bit about an industry before starting a business in said industry. With no knowledge of importing agricultural items, no connections in the coffee industry and no idea on what constitutes good or bad coffee beans or pricing, I think you might want to walk this idea back a bit.

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Welcome "darkroast13" (Victoria)

What is your "possible connection" in the Democratic Republic of the Congo? Have you visited there and discussed your idea with the farmers?

How much research into this adventure have you done already? Is this a project you've been working on for a while, or are you just getting started?

It seems that you're thinking about jumping into something that's bigger than you think. When you wrote that you know nothing about the coffee market, I automatically knew that you're going to need a lot of help. Do you have a partner, or are you planning to do it alone?

Rose

darkroast13

Sep 19, 2013
Visit site
Hi PinkRose,