Hello from Dominican Republic

dmey

Oct 30, 2017
Visit site
Hello, My name is David and want to grow coffee and produce very high quality, small scale in the mountains of Dominican Republic. I have a small 5 acre property at 1200 masl located near Manabao, La Vega province in the north and a larger 42 acre property in Rancho Arriba, San Jose de Ocoa, that ranges from about 900 to 1000masl. I am just learning about coffee and all the info i can get. I have loads of questions and concerns , especially with respect to varieties and how to best start this proyect.. I have had a lot of trouble trying to get accurate infromation from local government coffee institute CODOCAFE . I am interested in growing it organically and in shade and the idea is to grow and eventually produce my own coffee.

P.D. sorry if you are reading this twice.. i also posted it in another thread..

dmey

Oct 30, 2017
Visit site
welcome David. how are you? I have been to D.R. only once in my life, about 20 years ago. beautiful country and very nice people!

I also own couple of farms in Guatemala and currently, we are exporting green beans to few other countries. Honestly, not from our farm because our farm coffee is around 82 point quality and most of my customers are micro lot coffee buyers, so they want mostly 85 and up. so I am working with about 25 other specialty farms in several regions in Guatemala.

anyway, if you have any questions, specific questions, please let me know. I will try to help you as much as I can.
also, if you can check my previous postings, there are a lot of postings about coffee varieties, process, and about exporting coffee subjects.

good luck with your new ventures, David.