Help! My designs don't flow :(

thatlucidguy

Dec 24, 2013
Visit site
I finally managed to texture milk properly (i think)but I now have two issues.

1. When I pour into the back of the cup with the cup tilted a little, the milk immediately colors the coffee white a little bit. What's causing this?

2. When the white foam comes out towards the end of the pour, I wiggle my jug to create a Rosetta effect but it doesn't "flow" and instead it just lies where it falls. Advice?

I'm very new to this and using a home espresso machine with a steaming wand.

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
What kind of "jug" are you steaming in?

Have you watched any YouTube videos showing you how to steam/froth the milk and do the pour?

The foamed milk may be too thick. Keep on experimenting, and you'll find what works right for you.

Mar 31, 2011
Seattle, Wa
Visit site
It sounds like your foam is being aerated too much. My general rule is to only introduce air for the first couple seconds of steaming. As soon as your milk starts to warm, you shouldn't be letting any more air in. The final texture of the milk needs to be silky not frothy. Try 3 quick air bursts at the beginning and then don't let the steam wand our of the milk after until it's at temp.

thatlucidguy

Dec 24, 2013
Visit site
It sounds like your foam is being aerated too much. My general rule is to only introduce air for the first couple seconds of steaming. As soon as your milk starts to warm, you shouldn't be letting any more air in. The final texture of the milk needs to be silky not frothy. Try 3 quick air bursts at the beginning and then don't let the steam wand our of the milk after until it's at temp.