Are You familiar with roasting on an Ambex YM2? I'd like to hear your experience

1982Coffee

Jan 11, 2017
Visit site
Hi all

I've been using an Ambex YM2 since september 0f 2016. I've gone through about 6 whole bags plus a hundreds of pounds of broken down bags. Anyway, like any good roaster i'm always striving to learn more and do better. I roast for single origin, espresso, and cold brew. From City to French.

I used to put in 3 lbs 12 ounces per batch then I went down to 3.5lb batches. Charging temp was anywhere from 433-442F and with the gas control when I started out I was charging with full gas which on my roaster was 3 1/2" then I felt like my beans were scorching so I went down to 3", then to 2 1/2" and I've even done some roasts on 2"

When I start the roast at 2 1/2" I start with half air then at 6 minutes I open full air and go down to 2"

At the last 5 degrees of a roast i'll damper off with the gas closed

and this has been my latest roasting style

I keep trying different variables of air, gas and temp all the time

A friend of mine pointed out how all my coffees have a certain after taste. Like the last taste on the tongue and palate before going down. To me it seems as if its not completely developed and still has that underdeveloped aftertaste

In you experience what can I and should I be doing differently? How can I better developed my roasts without scorching or baking them?

Should I start with higher gas? Closed air? any advice or suggestions are welcome

Cheers

Joe

Musicphan

May 11, 2014
Kansas City
Visit site
Joe - what do you normal see as the first crack temp and drop temp? Just so we have a relative understanding of your roaster temps.

Your charge weight seems alright. To me - your charge temps are very high. I typically charge between 380-400 and my general philosophy is high heat to start and ramp down... airflow the reverse.. minimal to browning stage to wide open at FC.

1982Coffee

Jan 11, 2017
Visit site
Musicphan