Good Coffee Books

TukgaeExports

Jun 23, 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Visit site
Hi all,

I am sure that this has already been covered somewhere on these forums but when I used the search function then it didn't pull anything up...

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone can recommend me some good books on coffee? I want all processes, from the farming and growing, to the roasting, to the actual making of the coffee. I am currently studying hands on at the farms/roasters etc but I am after some reading material to back my knowledge up too.

Better if it's some well known books as English books can be a little tricky to get hold of here in Thailand but I can always order it in I guess.

Thanks in advance!

Gareth

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site

TukgaeExports

Jun 23, 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Visit site
Thanks for the replies!

Yes, I have of course been reading up on here and on other websites to learn more but was looking for a little bedtime reading also. Don't want to be glued to my laptop all of the time...

Thank-you, I will check them out :)

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Was looking for a little bedtime reading also. Don't want to be glued to my laptop all of the time...

I know what you mean. I would much rather read a book instead of a computer screen.

Where are you in the process? Are you a beginner who wants to understand the origin of coffee, or have you progressed further?

Blue Bottle "Craft of Coffee" is a good choice for a start. It has plenty of interesting things to keep you busy reading for a while. It also has recipes at the back of the book, which you can either look through or skip over.

If you're looking for some history of the progression of coffee: "Uncommon Grounds - The History of Coffee and How it Transformed the World" by Mark Pendergrast is a good choice. I enjoyed reading that one too.