HELP! Washington Wine/Beer/Spirits reviewer in over his head!

ThePourFool

Jun 7, 2021
Visit site
For the last 30 years, I've been working in the adult beverage industry and for the past 14 have been writing a blog in seattlepi.com, now a website called The Pour Fool. So, I am an old pro at tasting. BUT...I have never drunk coffee much at all and have certainly never studied it.

My wife is another matter. She is literally the Woman of My Dreams and I would do anything for her but she uses coffee for blood and I have flailed away for our entire twenty years together, trying to find her Perfect Coffee. What she wants is not complicated: she wants a full-bodied, assertive coffee that we'll buy in whole beans (French press users) and hand grind and that expresses what most people think of as "coffee flavors", that fat core of chocolate or cocoa, smoke, roasted nuts, dark caramel, a dash of baking spices, and maybe hints of cola and maple syrup.

I read a BUNCH of reviews from what I will charitably call "coffeegeeks" (I am a wine and beer and whiskey geek, so this is NOT a pejorative - in which they drool over coffees with notes of grapefruit and other citrus, vivid florals, exotic spices, pepper, herbal notes, etc. I have sometimes described certain New Zealana Sauvignon Blancs as having "cat pee" aromas and, in a certain context, that is NOT a fault but I totally get it why some people would go, "Ooh, ICK!" and skip the wine.

I'm not out on the edges with this: I'm hoping you coffee experts can recommend A) a coffee we can find; tiny artisanal roasters in rural Vermont or New Mexico do no good if I can't get the coffee on a regular basis, B) to quote a beer topic which drives me batty ("Beer flavored beer!"), Coffee-flavored with a vengeance, and C) dark-roasted because my wife has well-managed stomach acid problems and I don't want to get those activated again.