Hey what's up ...

deapee

Feb 7, 2013
Visit site
Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to the whole coffee game but wanted to introduce myself...and ask a quick question (or two, or three).

I've never been a coffee drinker, although I remember the aroma throughout the house while growing up from my Mom who always seemed to have a cup of coffee in her hand for breakfast or during gatherings. Probably about 6 months ago I decided to quit energy drinks and switch to coffee with my wife's help, of course. The first few times I tried to brew it myself, I'd end up with grinds down in the pot or just a totally bad (too much? too little?) cup all together. I have no idea what I was doing wrong, but I've pretty much perfected the process now (I give credit to a nice measuring spoon we bought and the brown flat-bottom coffee filters we now use).

Anyway, I really enjoy Maxwell House both Original and Breakfast Blend. I enjoy Sheetz coffee too...but I think I have a taste (or at least a curiosity) to try out the finer things in life, if you will. My mom got me a nice bag of coffee for Christmas that I pretty much devoured in a few weeks, although I can't remember what brand it was.

We (my wife, our son, and myself) recently moved to another state and I had to go to the DMV (about 20 miles away, we are pretty far out in the country but close enough to a main highway that it's not too country if you know what I mean) and I saw some type of coffee specialty place called Black Dog Coffee. I wanted to step up my game and try something a bit more flavorful or "richer" I guess. If I stop in there, what should I look for? I think I'd feel silly just walking in. Should I expect them to have bags of already-ground coffee (fresh) or should I expect them to only have beans that I would have to grind myself?

--