Looking to start a mail order roasting company

agoldin1989

Dec 16, 2015
Visit site
Hello Roasters!

I am a total coffee novice. I have a website right now where I sell herbs, but wanted to get into something that is a little more accepted, such as coffee. (The FDA is pretty ridiculous with herbal importing).

I want to run a similar style business, which is a website that delivers directly to the customer by mail. I have come to learn there is a huge lack of information out there regarding the freshness of beans, and that all beans are expired within 2 weeks. So, we want to have a site that roasts the beans and ships them out the day they are roasted, or maybe the day after.

I am trying to wrap my head around what would be the best plan of attack. Would I be better off with a small roaster since I will be roasting to order? Is this even a feasible idea? How long will it take before I can roast beans that are of respectable taste and quality? If anyone has any places they suggest I can go to learn, or any information you might feel will be helpful to me, please do share!

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
1) All reputable roasters ship within a day of roasting. So nothing new there.

2) The size (capacity) of the roaster is only big or small compared to the size of your business/customer base.

2) Buying a coffee roasting machine does not make you a coffee roaster. It makes you someone who owns a coffee roasting machine. Respectable? Several hundreds of hours, possibly thousands... provided you have the skill and dedication to do so. It's not a "get rich quick" kind of thing. Even if you go to a roasting camp for a four or five days, that just gives you the basics. Roasting is a craft. It takes time. It seems like you are wanting to do it to make money, not because you have a desire to roast.

agoldin1989

Dec 16, 2015
Visit site
1) All reputable roasters ship within a day of roasting. So nothing new there.