M2 problems

Albe

Jan 22, 2016
Visit site
Hello all! I got my hands on a Cimbali M2 that was poorly taken care of and partially disassembled. After a complete tear down, descale, and replacement of all gaskets and flexible lines I ran into an issue I need help with. The second time I pressurized the machine, steam began leaking from the electronic pressurestat. I thought it was the two small O-rings below the circuit board, but after replacing them I realize that air is flowing freely from black plastic chamber on the bottom of the circuitboard. My assumption is that air should not escape this since it's job is measuring the pressure of the boiler. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

CCafe

Aug 11, 2004
Des Moines, Iowa
Visit site
That black plastic piece of the pressurestat is probably shot. From time to time will split or blow out on the bottom side of that piece and blow steam and water all over the board. That board is about $300. PM me if you want to purchase one.

Albe

Jan 22, 2016
Visit site
Thanks for the reply CCafe! I was able to get a replacement pressurestat from a local repair technician. $300.00 dollars later (just as you said) and I'm still having an issue. The machine starts up and heats up. When the boiler is at temp, I can dispense from the water tap and the turbosteam wand operates correctly. The machine will even produce a decent espresso (not adjusted yet). But then the OPV valve goes off and steam vents into the drip tray. It seems that the machine continues to heat up even after it is up to temp. Checked all my wiring connections and all seems snug and proper. Nothing on the display gives me any clue as to what is going on. Super frustrating!