Please help this truck driver find a good mobile coffee maker for his truck.

BigJDub

Mar 2, 2018
Visit site
I'm a long haul trucker in the US. I'm sick of the garbage they pass off as coffee for $2+ a cup in truck stops. I'm not into expencive high end machines but I know I can make better coffee with a $15 Mr. Coffee from walmart. So now I'm trying to figure out what would be the best way to brew in my truck.

I like a dark full flavor coffee and I always drink it black.
I would like to be able to make up to a full thermos worth at a time but also able to brew just one cup if that's all I want.

I will be buying a hand powered burr grinder and grinding my beans fresh each morning.

My truck has a microwave, 2000 watt 110v inverter and many 12v outlets. I also have a small Optimus backpacking stove (like a jet boil). So I have several ways to get water hot or power some electrical items.

A big concern of mine is cleanup. Considering I pretty much live in my truck I don't have access to a dishwasher or hot running water. So I'm looking for a setup that requires as little cleaning as possible. For that reason something that uses common paper filters would be best. I've never tried pour over but that looks like an interesting option. The problem I see is that the ones I see are only ment to make 1 or 2 cups at a time and that wouldn't be enough.

Any advice, tips, or comments?

Mr.Peaberry

Aug 7, 2013
Visit site
Three things to consider, actually four things: French Press, AeroPress, Pour Over, and Chemex. You can get French Presses in various sizes, but you're gonna have sediment, so you may not like that for the larger size where the sediment has sat in the brew for too long. I would do an Aeropress, because you can vary the extraction via the grind fineness, etc, and give yourself more options as your skills in using it develop. For the larger batch, I'd use a Chemex for a cleaner brew you can put into your thermos.

Hope this helps & welcome to the forums.