Small Roaster Startup

sshafran

Mar 29, 2014
Visit site
Hello All,

Background...
I've been on the forum several times and finally registered tonight. I've read a lot about Roasters, different kinds, different business models, etc.
I'm currently a self-employed insurance agent - I've been selling insurance since 2009. I love what I do, which I think has helped me continue on in the industry.
More importantly, I'm a coffee lover. One great thing about my job is the travel - which leads to trying new coffee shops. I'm drawn to the shops that roast the coffee on site. I'm in Ohio, and I've been to a number of them.

Like many other coffee enthusiasts, I'd love to buy a roaster and roast my own. I'd probably start off just selling the beans, and organically grow the business until it could support a cafe/retail location. Having been in business for myself since '09, I know it takes hard work, enthusiasm, creativity, etc. to make a business successful. I also know it would take a fair amount of capital to get the equipment to start it off right. I'm not too concerned about that at this point.

My initial question is on margins and profitability. i.e., for a small roaster just starting out, is it just an expensive hobby :grin:? i.e., sell a 1lb bag of fresh-roasted coffee for $14 (or whatever) - what is a reasonable expectation on profit? $7 per bag? More? Less? After the raw bean cost, machine operation cost, bag w/ valve cost, etc...

I think I can sell a lot of coffee as long as I do the work to learn the trade. The fresh-roasted that I've tried kills any other coffee out there. Looking for reasonable expectations...

CoffeeJunky

Dec 7, 2012
Michigan, US
Visit site
It really depends on how much you want to invest in coffee business.
Its not cheap to purchase green in small quantity.
Also, roaster are not cheap as you already know.
talk to Eldub and see if he can give you some basic idea. He would be the great person to talk to

peterjschmidt

Oct 10, 2013