Starbucks Pike Place-Does any one know the blend?

lovethatcoffee

Sep 11, 2013
Visit site
Does anyone have a good idea as to the blend starbucks uses to make Pike Place? It sees like a Melange of south and Central American beans, but, I am new to all the profiles and their flavors. thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

lovethatcoffee

Sep 11, 2013
Visit site
I think that it is a good "crowd pleaser". I am also trying to teach myself about blending and feel that it is a good basic latin american blended coffee that every one has experience with. It has a very pleasant nut/chocalate aroma and the finish is long with out any unpleasant "carbon" flavors. I think this is interesting considering that starbucks is considered to be on the darker side of the roast spectrum. I feel that if I can replicate it it would be a good learning tool for blending.

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
So, are you roasting coffee beans?

The reason I ask is that as a coffee roaster, desiring to match most any of Starbuck's blend profiles is setting the bar at a pretty low level, imo.

Last edited:

lovethatcoffee

Sep 11, 2013
Visit site
I'm roasting at home and am having a little difficulty getting the depth of flavor like I am used to getting from blends from our local shops (and starbucks for that matter). My reference to Starbucks is only to give a point of reference for any helpful comments since people are on this forum are from around the country (world?) I know that most serious coffee drinkers are anti-starbucks for a lot of reasons and I am not inferring that they are the bench-mark for coffee flavor.

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
Maybe some work on the roasting technique is in order. Would you care to share with us your roasting method, times and beans used?

Maybe we can help you develop the flavor profiles of your beans before getting into blending.

CoffeeJunky

Dec 7, 2012
Michigan, US
Visit site