Roasting Advice Needed!

Hello,

I am new to the Business of Coffee and I am about to get into the coffee industry. However, before I buy my own roasting machine, I wanted to roast my coffee at a nearby roaster. Therefore, I was wondering how much does it usually cost to roast a pound of coffee, before I go forward with price negotiation. They will be roasting and bagging the coffee too. Hence, I am going to be roasting at least 1000 pounds a month.

Malek welcome to the forum. Tons of variables in your question, the type of bags are a huge variable. The type of green is another, but I think your question is solely on the line item of what does it cost to roast 1000 pounds of coffee not inclusive of green & bag?

Good luck in the business!

Super Moderator
    Are you providing the green? If you are looking for a price for "toll roasting" and packaging I would say you are looking at about $1 a lb. I wouldn't personally do it for any cheaper than that. You would have to provide the green, bags and boxes. Hope this helps.
    "Wine is for aging, not coffee."
    Ken Hutchinson, Starsky and Hutch

Thanks for the valuable info topher and Joe. Well, I am going to be providing the green coffee, I was looking for a roaster that would roast them and package them. I have spoke with one so far he wants to charge $2.65 lb but, I declined his offer and looking for a lower rate around $1.25 lb. I am NYC and if you can recommend any roaster nearby that would be great!

Super Moderator
    $2.65?? Wow. They must have a small roaster. If you want to take a mini vacation in Paradise come on down and I will knock it out for ya at a buck a lb. How much green are you buying at one time?
    "Wine is for aging, not coffee."
    Ken Hutchinson, Starsky and Hutch

Sorry, for the late reply. I was overseas. Its a long way topher! However, thanks for the offer. I guess now I have to learn how to roast by myself and buy my own roaster.

Quote Originally Posted by malek7373 View Post