Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Cold Coffee?

Cold Coffee?

I read somewhere that cold coffee doesn't give as much of a cafiene hit as hot coffee can anyone confirm this?

Maybe it said "cold brewed"?

I don't see how cold coffee would have less caffeine...It's brewed at the same temperature as hot coffee...and in your body they end up the same temp anyway. I think it just seems that way because when you drink hot coffee you do that sipping motion, and get more oxygen to your brain.

But I'm no scientist.

Well I don't know, maybe it has something to do with when you mix the coffee powder in hot boilnig water, and when then when it cools down to hot (but drinkable hot ) and simply cold.... maybe the coffiene emzimes are not active under a certain temperature... this is just something briefly read...

According to Wikipedia
    In general, dark-roast coffee has very slightly less caffeine than lighter roasts because the roasting process reduces a small amount of the bean's caffeine content.
    That implies that the heat of brewing coffee would further reduce the caffeine content of the coffee.

My gut feeling, though, is that the reduction is not significant.

Quote Originally Posted by Nathaniell View Post
    I don't see how cold coffee would have less caffeine...It's brewed at the same temperature as hot coffee
    "Cold brewed" coffee is not the same as "cold coffee".

Cold brewed coffee is made similar to iced tea: coffee grounds are mixed with room temp water and left soaking for a long time (usually overnight or longer). Check out this as an example.
    The cold brew process makes a coffee extract, as opposed to something drinkable. The extract is diluted with something else (water, milk, etc) to make something drinkable.