internal mechanisms of coffee

frag

Feb 14, 2006
Visit site
I am a design student and my honours degree project is to design a espresso machine.I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction as to what you believe needs to be improved in the design of commercial espresso machines both mechanically and aesthetically. And also if anyone can give me some info on the internal mechanisms of the espresso machine such as their function, how they work etc. i can be emailed at [email protected] and/or [email protected].
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time

Alan Breslin

mrgnomer

Jan 22, 2006
Canada
Visit site
Just being new to espresso I have much more to learn but after practical experience with a serious entry level machine, the Rancilio Silvia, and after about 4 months of obsessive research on espresso and machines I'd say espresso machines fall into two groups.

First group would be the low price range group that offers pressurized portafilters, froth assist but still boasts 15bars of pressure out of the pump.
I don't have experience with these machines but from the testimony about them some do a good job at pulling espresso shots. Personally I wouldn't invest in equipment with questionable life, reliability and ability to make great espresso.

The second group, the group that intrests me most, is the prosumer machines whose design and components reflect consumer standards. I like quality, durability and reliability and would spend more for good equipment. My preference also favours a semi automatic design mostly because a semi automatic allows the operator direct control of espresso pulling.