Looking for some help and insight on a college project.

Kegz

Apr 24, 2015
Visit site
Hello everyone,
I am studying to be a business analyst and am in my final semester doing a project that requires me to write a full business plan for a business of my choice. I chose a coffee shop because I thought it would be relatively affordable to start compared to other businesses. I have a few questions that hopefully some of you can answer, and if not that's okay thanks for your time anyway :)

1. Is it a hard market to get into? Are there so many competitors it is hard to get a good customer base?
2. Is most of your profit from drip coffee? This is what my research has told me.
3. How many cups of coffee should a new coffee shop shoot to sell in the first few months? I know it will depend on profit margin to determine profitability vs amount of cups needed to sell for my break even point.
4. My target market is people who stop for a cheaper normal coffee on the way to work, not like a specialty $5 Starbucks latte, although we will sell those also. Do you think this is a good target market?
5. Where would you say most coffee shops make mistakes and result in failure?
6. I am primarily relying on location to bring in my customers, I want to put my coffee shop with a drive thru in a highly trafficked area, that lacks coffee shops as well as coffee shops with a drive thru. I feel this would be the smartest way to 'force' customers to give my business a try, as they have few options in the area. Let me know if you feel i could expand on this in some way. (Ive thought about putting up flier ads, maybe taking out a radio station ad, not sure what will be effective.)