On the hunt for a new coffee

sjm1027

Oct 21, 2023
Visit site
I am new here, this is my first post. I can't do without coffee. I have been drinking Peet's Big Bang for many years, but lately, I am finding it bitter, and the rich flavor I couldn't wait to taste in the morning seems to be gone. There are times I can't even finish my cup because of the taste. I love a rich-flavored coffee, that reminds me of a dessert. Do you have any suggestions for me? I like a light to medium roast, I use a drip machine and also use a Melitta 1 cup drip as well.

LakeAtitlanCoffee

Oct 23, 2023
Guatemala
Visit site
I'd say Peet's is average to below average coffee quality and sometimes you get beans that are roasted few month ago. Try out Blue bottle, Klatch, Verve type of specialty coffees, buying directly from their website. Of course the cost will be much higher, but it will be fresher & more tasteful.

JeffD

Jan 27, 2022
Upstate New York
Visit site
Do you grind your own beans, measure your coffee and measure your water? If you do these things even mediocre coffee beans taste much much better. And if you don't, if you don't use a digital scale, and you measure by eye, and you use the graduations indicated on the drip machine or carefe, and you purchase already ground, well it doesn't matter as much what coffee you purchase because you are not getting the best taste out of it anyway. ;)

Believe me I intend no insult or snarkiness. I really believe if you are on the hunt for new coffee taste, upping your coffee game is the best first step.

If this really does not apply to you, (I misunderstood) then I apologize, and hope it helps someone to whom it does apply.

sjm1027

Oct 21, 2023
Visit site