Hello Forums! Coffee veteran here just discovered coldbrew

Coffee

Mar 4, 2010
Visit site
First off, I want to know how the username Coffee was still available on a forum of coffee enthusiasts!? For shame :p

I've been a coffee hobbyist for many years... I guess most people would call me a coffee snob, though I don't really see that as a bad thing. The smell captivated me at a young age, and when my parents took me to a Seattle coffee convention at age 9, my fate as a coffee-lover was sealed (though it would be a few more years before I started drinking the stuff regularly). By the time I left for college, I already held auto-drip coffee in contempt. In the next several years I collected different means of brewing... filter cones, french presses, a moka pot, an ibrik, a home-espresso machine (I'm skeptical of its precision w/ regard to pressure and temperature, but it pulls a quaffable shot with a nice head of crema, so it's probably as good as I can do without dropping $1500), etc... I've never owned a vacuum pot, but I'm sure it's in the cards someday.

I take a lot of satisfaction with every step I take closer to the perfect coffee... getting a brita filter for better water, getting a quality burr grinder for optimal grind, finding a local roaster who makes quality roasts and has high enough turnover to ensure fresh beans, getting a vacuum-sealing container to store the beans in, getting a grasp on what to expect from different growing regions, and figuring out which regions' coffees I prefer for particular brewing methods. At this point it feels like the only thing I'm missing is a home-roasting setup.