Question from a newbie.

Driek

Jan 3, 2022
Netherlands
Visit site
Hello, I'm new to coffee making and I tried to get all the information off videos and posts online but I have a question. I bought a delonghi dedica. I read and watched a lot before I want to try make a decent espresso. Don't roast me on the machine or my skills because I don't have any money for good machinery and no knowledge for espresso making. I know how to set time on the dedica and set the single shot button to 26sec. Now I want to get the grind size right but I get confused on how to do it. Everyone says that my grind size will affect the shot time but I don't understand how the shot time can be affected when the button always runs 26sec. I thought I would just adjust my grind size to the 1:2 ratio so I don't have to worry about the timing. Is this the way? Or do I need to do something else for decent espresso.

topher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 14, 2003
Boca Raton
Visit site
The grind will affect the shot time. If it is too coarse it will pour fast and if it is too fine it will not come out or very slowly. Humidity will affect your grind as well. You might have the grinder set for that perfect shot and the next day it will not be as good. The settings on the grinder are not set in stone..they are reference points. Think of sand versus dirt. If you pour water through sand it just runs through it...dirt it takes longer. Its been a long day and hope that made sense.

Driek

Jan 3, 2022
Netherlands
Visit site