Super Automatic Espresso Machines

coffeejoes

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
I just got a used La Cimbali Super Automatic Espresso machine. I have no experience with this type of machine. I have always used traditional automatic machines. Normally a espresso shot takes approx. 20 seconds to pull. This machine is set up for approx. 10 second shots. I had always been told that too short the espresso is way underdeveloped and too long way overextracted. Do these rules apply to this or any Super Auto machine? Or is 10 second extractions the norm for this type of machine? I would aprreciate any help on this topic.

CCafe

Aug 11, 2004
Des Moines, Iowa
Visit site
I set all my M2's to pull shots between 20 to 30 seconds. The machine can pull a shot in 15 seconds and it will taste okay but it won't be the best the M2 can make.

Little adjustments can go a long way. Make sure you weigh your espresso and see if it's around 14 grams. My guess is your way to coarse and your not putting enough espresso in the chamber. If you look at the keypad configuration take note of what the MDS/MDX grinders are dosing. Say it 70 and your shot pulls in around 10 seconds. Twist the hopper handle to close the coffee chutes. Now make a few shots until it empty. Now lift the tab in the back and move it as far to the right as possible. Open the coffee chutes, and make 3 espresso's (I like to make double) and then weigh the 4th.

If its less then 13.5 grams then add 4 or 5 to the grinder and try again. Make sure you always grind 3 times after making an adjustment to the grind time. This will allow you to see the average amount dispersed. If you within a half a gram either way don't make any adjustments.

When you make adjustments to the espresso grind (coarser or finer) always throw away the first 2 or 3 grindings while in weighing section. This way the grinders will be able to clear out all the old espresso and you will have and accurate amount when you weigh it out.