The growth of a nano-roaster: new digs, new roaster, and an oversized ad campaign!

poison

Aug 31, 2012
Visit site
Reposted here with PinkRose permission:

I'm a really, really tiny roaster in Los Angeles. I've been roasting for around 10 years now, 2 apprenticing with a master roaster, then 8 on my own. Over those 8 years I've roasted over 20k pounds, 2lbs at a time, on a BBQ roaster in my backyard. I've developed a small, but fierce, following. This year big things are happening, from buying a new, pro roaster, to moving on to a real commercial space, to a big ad campaign that just hit the internet yesterday. You can read more here:

http://www.coffeeforums.com/forum/coffee-roasters/11332-bbq-sf6.html

The ad campaign is interesting: my wife happens to know someone working on the team at a prestigious ad agency. He told us some time ago that he was working on a campaign for a large corporation, in which they were going to feature 4 small businesses. Seeing as he was on the design tam, he put our name in the hat as one of the potential featured businesses, and to make it short, we were chosen! We did a photo shoot, but missed the video shoot due to me losing my voice the day before, and generaly being sick. Anyway, they redesigned our packaging, from this:

315789_10151150944745669_1227319148_n.jpg

To what you see in the ad campaign:

iam_04_westcoast-story.jpg

The corporation is Avery Dennison, they make all kinds of things, from car wraps, to the little plastic thing you bite when you bite tags off clothes, to what we are starting to use in the pic above, labels we can print ourselves. The ad agency did the redesign, and it's all using Avery labels to make it happen. Pretty sweet, and a significant upgrade from my hand-stamped bags and hand-written origin and date. Oh, yes, that's my wife holding the bag. :)

Here are some more banner ads:

iam_billboard_04.jpg

iam_billboard_01C.jpg

They were all over www.inc.com yesterday, but here's the main page: